Lyon, Author and Sugar Grove Native
Explore the Fox Valley!
In the Spring of 1834 at what is
now known as Bliss Woods Forest Preserve, Sugar Grove had its humble
beginnings when six travelers from the east took shelter there and
eventually built a log cabin; land was just over a dollar an acre...
In 1850, the first town meeting was held on April 2nd.
The exquisitely rich, black soil of the prairie was ideal for
agriculture, and farming quickly became the first real business there.
By 1881, the Chicago & Iowa Railroad had come to Sugar Grove, providing
an essential link for farmers, as well as providing transportation for
community residents. The original roads of dirt were paved over
during the first half of the twentieth century and in 1957, the Village
of Sugar Grove was incorporated. Population: 125. A general
merchandise store and cheese factory, then a grain elevator, lumber,
coal business, ice cream parlor, a post office and other businesses
followed; Sugar Grove began to grow.. slowly at first.
Located on Route 47, at the edge of the Chicago Metropolitan area and
once known to the Indians of the area as "Sin-Qua-Sip", Sugar Grove has
seen tremendous growth during the first years of the twenty-first
century -- 115% by some estimates -- and has quickly become a thriving
and tight-knit community that continues to attract visitors and new
residents, in part because of its strong public school system (Kaneland
CUSD 302), community college (Waubonsee) and strong sense of community
involvement. From the official Village of Sugar Grove website:
are a community of hardworking people, people who volunteer, people who
take pride in their family and their community. There is no place like
Elevation: 726 feet
Land area: 10+ sq mi